The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 07, 2003, 02:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally posted by Andy
...the umpire shall not call "time" during a live ball, except in the case of severe injury to a player. ... By rule, the umpire cannot call time when the lights went out as a live ball was in play.
While I agree with your conclusion (let the play continue, live with the result), the rule you are referencing is not so strongly worded as your underlined words above would have it.

The rule is ASA 10-8, SUSPENSION OF PLAY.

10-8A says,
Quote:
Umpires may suspend play when, in their judgment, conditions justify such action.
Now, since the ball was caught, I assume it was not pitch black, so while the conditions were not ideal, they were not impossible either. Therefore, let the play continue to it's natural end. Then suspend play due to darkness.

10-8E (the rule you were referencing) says,
Quote:
An umpire will not call time while any play is in progress, including when a thrown ball hits an umpire...(exception for an injured player follows)
It says "will not" not "shall not" or "cannot." This gives the umpire some small bit of wiggle room (IMO) to apply 10-8A if conditions are severe enough, due to something happening suddenly.

At least that is the way I see it.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:06pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1