The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 13, 2013, 08:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by Centerfield9 View Post
My interpretation of the MLB rule is that the batted ball is treated like a caught flyball whether the ball is caught or not, so the runners must "retouch" their base before advancing. ASA rules could be different but I cannot find it in the book.
The important part of the rule you quoted, and the reason your interpretation is incorrect, is the words "the same as on any fly ball." Do the runners have to retouch on any other fly ball, if it's touched but not caught? No? Well, the IFF works "the same as on any fly ball."
__________________
Patrick
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Infield Fly Rule rbmartin Baseball 30 Fri Apr 27, 2012 04:04pm
Infield Fly Rule UES-2 Baseball 11 Sun Jul 04, 2010 01:10am
Infield Fly Rule mccann Softball 1 Sat Apr 01, 2006 06:31pm
Infield Fly Rule Bandit Softball 13 Mon Dec 15, 2003 01:55pm
Infield Fly Rule paparada Softball 5 Thu Jun 26, 2003 12:44am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:45pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1