![]() |
|
|||
I don't know NSA rules, but in ASA, a runner can assist another runner. There is no penalty whatsoever. Of course, if the following runner should pass the preceding runner, that's a different story.
The rule specifies an out if "anyone other than another runner" physically assists a runner. However, that can't be taken literally. If the shortstop assisted the runner . . . In fact, a following runner could carry a preceding runner around the bases legally, as long as he kept the preceding runner in front of him. Supposedly a runner once did that when the preceding runner collapsed in a 19th century professional game. According to the story, the runner, unbeknownst to everyone, had actually died. [Edited by greymule on Jul 31st, 2003 at 10:13 PM]
__________________
greymule More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men! Roll Tide! |
Bookmarks |
|
|