| 
			
			     A fellow blue relayed this to me tonight and wondered if he made the right call.  NSA fastpitch. 
 Runner on first.  Batter hits a ball deep to the corner for a hit.  As runners advance the batter runner keeps catching up with R1 to the point where she is directly behind her when they are a few feet from the plate.  As the ball approached the infield, the trail runner "playfully" ( says my ump friend ) pushed R1 to the plate and then crossed it herself.  He called R2 out for interference for assisting R1.
 
 I don't think he got it right.  Even though it seems like something wrong happened I find nothing in the rules  disallowing the action.  In fact NSA 8-8-n speaks of anyone other than the another baserunner being out if they assist ( ASA 8-7-E states the same thing.  R2 never passed R1.when she pushed her.
 
 The bottom line is this;  is physical assistance between runners allowed so long as trail runner doesn't pass lead runner?  I can't find anything ( NSA or ASA ) that specifically says its OK but it seems like it is.
 
 
 
			
			
			
			
				  |