![]()  | 
	
| 
	 | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
			
			 
				
				Play at 1B
			 
			
			
			Hard liner skips off F3's mitt toward 1B coach's box (fair ball)... F3 retrieves it, and easily wins the footrace to the bag (by at least 3 steps), with both F3 and BR hitting orange only. 
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
	
	I have safe, off the bag. Did I tank this basic call?  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			tank. 
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
			Thought it doesn't turn into one big bag for both Offense and Defense until after BR rounds 1B. I guess the only time contrasting bag is off limits to the Defense is on a non-errant throw from fair territory (F3 sets up for an ordinary throw from F6, with foot on contrasting bag)? Thanks. Last edited by jmkupka; Wed Jun 26, 2013 at 09:28am.  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
			
			 
				
				Definition of a Force
			 
			
			
			What is the definition of a Force ? Is the BR forced to go to 1B by definition ? I agree with your call  with using the whole base with a ball from foul territory. What I am looking for is something that I have seen and  listened to many people and Umpires that have many interpretations of what is a force ? Please no hate mail just help...
		 
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
			Last edited by xtremeump; Wed Jun 26, 2013 at 11:16am.  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 
			
			The question (the OP) will not drive any real umpire crazy.  In all rulesets, on a play from foul ground, the base is just one big base. 
		
		
		
		
		
		
			The rule stated? Maybe - given that all real umpires know that there's no such thing as a force at first base. Semantics, yes... and in the bigger scheme of things, really unimportant semantics. But true nonetheless. 
				__________________ 
		
		
		
		
		
	
	I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 Quote: 
	
  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 Quote: 
	
 Anytime the play on the BR is coming from foul territory on the right side, either player may use either half of the double base. 
				__________________ 
		
		
		
		
		
	
	The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 Quote: 
	
 Sir Irish what does that mean sir ? I know this is going to be called off topic, but you opened the door. A bad throw from F6 that pulls F3 off the bag is the same call One Bag. D3K F2 can throw to F3 to the whole bag same call one bag.  | 
		
		
  | 
|||
| 
		
	
		
		
		
		 Quote: 
	
 But the answer to your question, strictly going by what you have offered is, no. 
				__________________ 
		
		
		
		
		
	
	The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.  | 
![]()  | 
	
	
| Bookmarks | 
		
  | 
	
		 | 
			 
			Similar Threads
		 | 
	||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post | 
| Public Address announcer/ Play by play | Terrapins Fan | Basketball | 34 | Sun Dec 13, 2009 12:20pm | 
| Force play or time play? | Rita C | Baseball | 44 | Sat Dec 05, 2009 10:12am | 
| was a force play, became a tag play ? | _Bruno_ | Baseball | 8 | Sun Aug 19, 2007 11:13am | 
| Play-by-Play Commentary | FC IC | Basketball | 2 | Sat Dec 21, 2002 12:28am | 
| CBS play-by-play announcers: should they all be fired? | David Clausi | Basketball | 6 | Mon Mar 27, 2000 11:56pm |