The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Tue Jul 29, 2003, 10:43pm
Official Forum Member

"I am beginning to put together requests for possible changes to ASA rules for submission this fall.

In your post below you started with this statement, but then directed the responses to a Co-ed issue. I'd like to open it up to any issues.

My major issue with ASA is the "about to receive a thrown ball" portion of obstruction (1.Obstruction.B.3, and 8.5.B). Now personally, I believe that most umps can fairly judge "about to receive," but ASA screwed it up with POE 35 in which they tried to replace "judgment" with a scientific fact "ball is closer than runner." Now we both know that the ball travels faster than the runner, and thus the defender has the ball before before the runner is there; in effect negating the "about to receive" clause.

Let's make it easy and go to the International rule that says you must have the ball (period) or you are guilty of obstruction.

We make this change and umpires will be making zillions of obstruction calls. And coaches and players will have to change. This change will force players to start taking the throws alongside the base or base path, then turn and sweep tag the runners. This will remove a lot of contact from the game and eliminate a dangerous trend of coaches teaching obstruction.

That is the major issue with me. There are a couple others that may make sense to the whole body of ASA softball, but I feel are unfair to JO.

1. Unreported substitute is disqualified. These kids come to play the game; the only reason they should be disqualified is for un-safe or un-sportsmanship acts for which they are directly responsible. So a kid sits an entire game because her coach forgot to tell the umpire of the substitution. In NFHS an unreported substitute is legal as soon as the ball is put into play.