![]() |
|
|
|||
Sliding into first with a double bag?
Close play at first base, the runner decides to slides and slides into the white bag. The umpire calls her safe. My understanding the is the "safety" is there to avoid a collision and unless you are turning to go to second base, the runner needs to use the safety bag. Did he make the right call?
|
|
|||
If a batter/runner goes to the white portion of the bag, it is an appeal that must be made by the defense prior to the batter/runner returning to the base. Since the player slid into the base and is still there, there is no appeal to be made before they can return.
|
|
|||
The runner never got up and it stirred up controversy when it got questioned immediately after the play. All the umpire kept saying was she has the right to slide. I agrees but what bag should she had slid into?
|
|
|||
The batter/runner is suppose to go to the colored portion of the bag, but, if they dont it is an appeal the defense must make before the runner returns to the base. Since the batter/runner slid into the base and never left it there really isnt anything to appeal.
|
|
|||
What if she is still only touching the white (never touched the colored) portion and F3 is holding foot on the white while stating the appeal for not touching the colored portion?
__________________
"We judge ourselves by what we feel capable of doing, while others judge us by what we have already done." Chris Z. Detroit/SE Michigan ![]() |
|
|||
There is literally no way to get an out here. You MUST appeal before BR returns to first... since she never left first in this case, there's no timeframe available for an appeal.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
If the defense while on the base appeals that the runner has only touched the white bag or more importantly missed the colored bag it would be a proper live ball appeal and the BR would be out. If the BR touches the colored bag or if a pitch is thrown or a play attempted (etc.) before a proper appeal is made it is too late and there is no penalty for sliding into the wrong bag. (Edited Fri 05/17/2013)Whoops! The red text above is wrong as you will see if you read the rest of the thread. If the runner slides into the white, and never passes 1B, and does not interfere with the defensive player taking a throw at 1B, you have nothing and the offense has no time available to appeal the BR not hitting the colored portion. Last edited by UmpireErnie; Fri May 17, 2013 at 07:49pm. Reason: Correct bad info |
|
|||
That has already been answered. It is an appeal play the defense must properly appeal. The umpire cannot just call the runner out for going to the wrong portion of the base, the defense must appeal it prior to the runner returning to the base. If the runner never left the base to begin with, there is nothing to appeal.
|
|
|||
RK's answer is exactly right... is there a reason you have to not believe him?
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Which is why I like discussion on this board!
The runner is required (if a play is being made) to touch the colored portion of the bag. I've often heard this taught as treating it just like missing the base. So I was thinking that you could still appeal until the runner corrected her mistake and touched the colored bag... much like if a runner slid to 2B but missed it the defense could appeal missing the base by tagging the base unless the runner returns first. (Sure they will probably just tag the runner off base, but in theory they could.) But the double base is different.... Rereading double base rules in both ASA and NFHS the timeframe for appeal ends when the runner returns to the base. The important part that I missed was that both rule sets specify they may return to either the white or the colored portion of the double base. So as my brothers have stated since she never left the base then she has "returned" so remaining on the white is just fine. Really the only penalty for sliding into the white would be if somehow this slide interfered with the throw. Proof that you can drink beer, watch NCAA ball on TV, watch it snow outside, and still learn something all at the same time! |
|
|||
Quinleygirl, welcome a(board) !!
![]()
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() Unlike my days umpiring the sport with the small, white, stitched ball, I can honestly say I have never EVER seen a BR slide into first base, much less do so on the white side of a double-first.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker |
|
|||
Quote:
This is probably why the whole appeal of missing the colored base is centered around "returning to the base (either portion)" as the rule makers were thinking of a BR running thru 1B and only touching the white. Still it's good to talk about those things that "never happen" becuase someday on some field somewhere it will. Spending time talking about weird what-ifs can only increase one's understanding of the rules. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Sliding Question | Spence | Baseball | 31 | Fri Apr 01, 2011 11:54am |
ASA JO Sliding | bwbuddy | Softball | 7 | Sat Jun 09, 2007 07:32am |
sliding short | bethsdad | Softball | 3 | Mon Feb 23, 2004 06:04am |
Sliding on the floor.... | ace | Basketball | 6 | Sun Jan 04, 2004 01:14am |
Sliding? | LIBLUE | Softball | 2 | Tue Apr 16, 2002 08:31am |