The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 13, 2013, 11:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
I'm not sure that's appropriate. Runners are allowed to correct their mistakes in situations where the ball goes out of play (e.g., batted ball goes over the fence, thrown ball goes into the dugout, etc.) I don't think they are allowed to correct them when an umpire makes a routine Time call, even if there was Obstruction.
Runners should always be allowed to complete their running responsibilities during a dead ball. An umpire should not accept any appeals or announce any awards until the runner receives an opportunity to complete them.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 13, 2013, 12:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny
I'm not sure that's appropriate.
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
Runners should always be allowed to complete their running responsibilities during a dead ball. An umpire should not accept any appeals or announce any awards until the runner receives an opportunity to complete them.
You should be sure now.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 13, 2013, 12:52pm
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
You should be sure now.
I stand corrected. I thought that only applied on base awards, not on routine misses or failures to tag up.

So, just to be clear in my mind: R1 on second leaves too soon on a tag-up, and beats the throw to third, sliding in safely. She requests and is granted Time to dust herself off. She overhears the defensive head coach in the third base dugout say that he saw her leave early. So she goes back to second, touches it, and then returns to third. That's completely legal.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 13, 2013, 12:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
I stand corrected. I thought that only applied on base awards, not on routine misses or failures to tag up.

So, just to be clear in my mind: R1 on second leaves too soon on a tag-up, and beats the throw to third, sliding in safely. She requests and is granted Time to dust herself off. She overhears the defensive head coach in the third base dugout say that he saw her leave early. So she goes back to second, touches it, and then returns to third. That's completely legal.
Apples and Space Shuttles. Of course not.

I thought that only applied on base awards - Yes, exactly... and when a player is given a base due to obstruction (even one achieved naturally), that is a ________________?
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 13, 2013, 01:15pm
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
Apples and Space Shuttles. Of course not.

I thought that only applied on base awards - Yes, exactly... and when a player is given a base due to obstruction (even one achieved naturally), that is a ________________?
Okay, now I'm REALLY

Mine was a bad example. Suppose this happens: R1 at first goes to third base on a single, but she was obstructed near second base by a clueless F6. R1 missed touching second because of the obstruction, and rather than try to touch it (as is required), she just continues to third and slides in safely. She then requests Time to dust herself off, and she overhears the defensive coach say she missed the bag. She is allowed to fix that after Time has been granted?
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 13, 2013, 01:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
Okay, now I'm REALLY

Mine was a bad example. Suppose this happens: R1 at first goes to third base on a single, but she was obstructed near second base by a clueless F6. R1 missed touching second because of the obstruction, and rather than try to touch it (as is required), she just continues to third and slides in safely. She then requests Time to dust herself off, and she overhears the defensive coach say she missed the bag. She is allowed to fix that after Time has been granted?
The short answer is yes, although YOU should be the one calling time and awarding the base - that's what the timeout is for, and it shouldn't be called if the defense is still playing, even if she wants to "dust herself off".

There's a caveat to this one though, and I hope Irish chimes in here.

If she is obstructed and simply misses 2nd base, and the appeal is live, she's out. However if the REASON she misses 2nd base is the obstruction itself, then when she is put out on appeal - the award for the obstruction is the base she would have achieved absent the obstruction - meaning that absent the obstruction there wouldn't have been a miss of the base (presumably), in which case you do NOT rule her out.

I "get" this case but consistently explain it poorly, hence my desire for Irish to jump in.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 04, 2013, 09:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 648
Mike, thanks for reviving this thread...

Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
The short answer is yes, although YOU should be the one calling time and awarding the base - that's what the timeout is for, and it shouldn't be called if the defense is still playing, even if she wants to "dust herself off".

There's a caveat to this one though, and I hope Irish chimes in here.

If she is obstructed and simply misses 2nd base, and the appeal is live, she's out. However if the REASON she misses 2nd base is the obstruction itself, then when she is put out on appeal - the award for the obstruction is the base she would have achieved absent the obstruction - meaning that absent the obstruction there wouldn't have been a miss of the base (presumably), in which case you do NOT rule her out.

I "get" this case but consistently explain it poorly, hence my desire for Irish to jump in.
I was hoping you were going to comment on this. I read closely, and I don't see a correction of running responsibilities after time is called in this situation. If that's true, is the bolded statement correct?
She was blocked from touching 2B on her way to 3B. Doesn't she have to do whatever's necessary to touch 2B, then rely on our judgement to properly award her?

Last edited by jmkupka; Tue Jun 04, 2013 at 09:50am.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 13, 2013, 01:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
Okay, now I'm REALLY
I don't think you are confused after your clarification ... the important different in your sitch that was apples vs space shuttles is that there was no base award involved at all. She can't just call time quickly so she can correct an error. (If she did so, I'd let her ... and then would still rule her out on appeal).
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 13, 2013, 08:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Why does a player need, and why would you grant "time" for a player to dust herself off? Can't she do that while standing safely on the base?

Frankly, I see that as an unnecessary carry-over from baseball, which coddles the players by killing the ball at every unnecessary opportunity. OK, you just finished sliding into a base; so? There is no reason to grant time. Now, if the batter-runner was wearing protective equipment that she needs to remove and hand to a coach, fine; but not to dust off.

JMO, and it isn't granted in my games; at any level.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Obstruction Question bucblue Baseball 6 Mon Mar 18, 2013 12:44pm
Obstruction question JJ Baseball 53 Sun Jul 06, 2008 12:02pm
Obstruction Question BigUmp56 Baseball 8 Sun Apr 16, 2006 04:20pm
Yet Another Obstruction Question Striker991 Baseball 2 Mon May 05, 2003 02:47pm
Obstruction question David Emerling Baseball 21 Fri Dec 07, 2001 05:40pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:10pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1