The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 18, 2003, 04:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Crete, Nebraska
Posts: 734
Send a message via ICQ to shipwreck
Question

I was working an ASA District game the other day and this play occured. A sinking liner towards right center field. I am BU and go out to look for a catch. The right fielder goes out, and to her right. She reaches her left hand out and snags the ball but then rolls to the ground and rolls on top of her glove. While the glove and ball were both visible to me, the ball was in her glove and not with the open part of her glove down. It took her a little while to COME UP with the ball to show me. I couldn't get to the back side of her in time to find if she had indeed caught the ball. I ruled a catch, and of course we had one elated coach and one irate coach. Did I rule correctly or since it took a little while to produce the ball, did I screw up?
P.S. Just a little side bar. After the inning ended and she was congratulated by the other players and after some laughter and a "GOOD JOB that away to go" and some more laughter, I believed she probably did in fact drop the ball.
Dave
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:10pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1