The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 15, 2003, 09:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally posted by David Emerling
Personally, I'd like to see an official interpretation on this because it is very common for the DEFO to bat as if she were the tenth batter.
I get the impression that this is not been considered (yet?) by the arbiters of ASA rules interpretation.

Personally, I have yet to see the situation of the DEFO innocently coming to bat as B10, although I have disallowed a coach from bringing the DEFO up to bat for a player other than the DP, but that was in response to the coach telling me "#23 is coming in to bat for #19" - and I check the line up card and tell the coach he can't do that.

If it does happen, my interpretation will be that the DEFO is coming in for B1 as an unannounced illegal batter, not BOO. And then, if DEFO gets on base, and a pitch is thrown, then go from there with DQ's and BOO's, recognizing that at that point, the DEFO's "at bat" is now legal, even though the DEFO herself is not. Therefore, B2 is due up, not B1.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:23pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1