The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 08, 2012, 02:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Trivia 4

I confess I'm not positive about my ruling. The intervening play throws me.

Pick your rule code, and assume that you, the umpire, are positive of the following:

Bases loaded, no outs. After an offensive conference, the runners return to their bases -- except the base runners from 1st and 2nd switch places. This is not caught by an umpire at this point. The runner from 3rd scores on a sac fly and then the defense appeals switching bases at 1st and 2nd. What's the call?
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 08, 2012, 03:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Tyler, Texas
Posts: 388
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
I confess I'm not positive about my ruling. The intervening play throws me.

Pick your rule code, and assume that you, the umpire, are positive of the following:

Bases loaded, no outs. After an offensive conference, the runners return to their bases -- except the base runners from 1st and 2nd switch places. This is not caught by an umpire at this point. The runner from 3rd scores on a sac fly and then the defense appeals switching bases at 1st and 2nd. What's the call?
What age?

If 12U or above I would eject the 3BC for unsportsmanlike conduct. Put the runners on the correct base and go on. The HC, if he/she is not already gone, will have a VERY short leash if they object.
If younger than 12, put the runners on the correct base and tell the HC not to let it happen again.

In either case, if the runner(s) advanced on the sac fly, I would put the runner(s) back to the TOP base.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 08, 2012, 03:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by nopachunts View Post
What age?

If 12U or above I would eject the 3BC for unsportsmanlike conduct. Put the runners on the correct base and go on. The HC, if he/she is not already gone, will have a VERY short leash if they object.
If younger than 12, put the runners on the correct base and tell the HC not to let it happen again.

In either case, if the runner(s) advanced on the sac fly, I would put the runner(s) back to the TOP base.
Beth, who should be on 2nd, starts the pitch on 3rd and scores on the Sac Fly. Alyssa, who should be on 3rd, starts the pitch on 2nd and doesn't move on the fly out by Darla.

What exactly do you mean by "the TOP base"? Are you saying you'd put Alyssa back on 2nd and Beth back on 3rd - the TOP bases?
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 08, 2012, 04:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
Beth, who should be on 2nd, starts the pitch on 3rd and scores on the Sac Fly. Alyssa, who should be on 3rd, starts the pitch on 2nd and doesn't move on the fly out by Darla.

What exactly do you mean by "the TOP base"? Are you saying you'd put Alyssa back on 2nd and Beth back on 3rd - the TOP bases?
In the OP, Beth who should be on 2nd goes to first. Cassie is on 2nd when she shouldn't be. At the end of the play, he's counting Alyssa's run and having Beth and Cassie on first and second. This would only be correct if the intervening play somehow prevents us from calling Beth and Casie out which I don't see.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 08, 2012, 05:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Tyler, Texas
Posts: 388
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
What exactly do you mean by "the TOP base"? Are you saying you'd put Alyssa back on 2nd and Beth back on 3rd - the TOP bases?
TOP - Time of Pitch

Put the correct runners on 2B and 1B as they were before the offensive conference started.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 09, 2012, 09:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by nopachunts View Post
TOP - Time of Pitch

Put the correct runners on 2B and 1B as they were before the offensive conference started.
Hey thanks... I know what TOP means. where they were at the TOP and where they were before the offensive conference are two different places... which is why I questioned you. TOP is wrong.

However ... placing these runners back on base at all is also wrong.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 08, 2012, 06:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 937
Quote:
Originally Posted by nopachunts View Post
What age?

If 12U or above I would eject the 3BC for unsportsmanlike conduct. Put the runners on the correct base and go on. The HC, if he/she is not already gone, will have a VERY short leash if they object.
If younger than 12, put the runners on the correct base and tell the HC not to let it happen again.

In either case, if the runner(s) advanced on the sac fly, I would put the runner(s) back to the TOP base.
In ASA, that action on your part is not supported by any rule.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 08, 2012, 06:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,340
8-7-Y makes no mention of an intervening play. It says each runner on an improper base shall be declared out. Even if there was a play before it was caught, the runners who switched are still on an improper base.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 08, 2012, 07:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,577
Triple play?

BR is out as a result of playing action.
R1 passing R2 on baseline is out before the pitch.
R2 returning to touch 1B, is also out before the pitch, travesty of the game.

Ruling same as NCAA, minus ejections.
__________________
SAump

Last edited by SAump; Mon Nov 12, 2012 at 11:50pm.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 09, 2012, 09:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAump View Post
BR is out as a result of playing action.
R1 passing R2 on baseline is out before the pitch.
R2 returning to touch 1B, is also out before the pitch, travesty of the game.

Ruling same as NCAA, minus ejections.
Partially right result (3 outs), wrong reasons. Eject in Fed or ASA as well. Not positive on USFA.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 09, 2012, 11:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 937
Quote:
Originally Posted by SAump View Post
Staying with ASA rules .......

BR is out as a result of playing action.
OK

R1 passing R2 on baseline is out before the pitch.
But this action occurred during a dead ball. Not sure if 8.7.D fits here. But if we can apply 8.7.D, do we call and signal R1 out prior to the pitch?

R2 returning to touch 1B, is also out before the pitch, travesty of the game.
I could be wrong, but I can't find a "travesty of the game" rule reference in the book. So are we supporting the out call of R2 with R/S#49, Sporting Behavior?

Ruling same as NCAA, minus ejections.
It's not the same ruling, not even close. NCAA has an AR (see Slick's earlier post) that covers this specific play.
An AR or interp from ASA would make all this a lot easier.

Separate from what's being asked in the OP, from a mechanics standpoint, what was the BU paying attention to during the conference???

Last edited by KJUmp; Fri Nov 09, 2012 at 11:29am.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 08, 2012, 08:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by RKBUmp View Post
8-7-Y makes no mention of an intervening play. It says each runner on an improper base shall be declared out. Even if there was a play before it was caught, the runners who switched are still on an improper base.
Lacking any further interpretation, I agree, both are out and coach is gone.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 09, 2012, 10:22am
SRW SRW is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Seattle area
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
Lacking any further interpretation, I agree, both are out and coach is gone.
I'm in slight disagreement, for the sake of discussion. This was not caught until after a play was made. 8-7-Y says "...following any conference" ... not a play. So in the OP, a play has gone by, and one runner has scored (not on any base.) I find it hard to enforce 8-7-Y after the play has been made.

However... arguing the other way, say the runners switch after the conference, and it's noted before a play. Switch them back, no harm, no foul. Nothing has been done at this point to offend the defense. Following this logic, the rule must be in the book to deal with the situation after a play.

Flopping back to my first point, when would we stop enforcing the rule? After 2 plays have gone by? One pitch?
__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 08, 2012, 03:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
I confess I'm not positive about my ruling. The intervening play throws me.

Pick your rule code, and assume that you, the umpire, are positive of the following:

Bases loaded, no outs. After an offensive conference, the runners return to their bases -- except the base runners from 1st and 2nd switch places. This is not caught by an umpire at this point. The runner from 3rd scores on a sac fly and then the defense appeals switching bases at 1st and 2nd. What's the call?
I'm not positive either, but I think I'd still call them both out, let the catch stand and consequently disallow the run. Both runners were still guilty of the violation during the intervening play.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 08, 2012, 03:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
I'm not positive either, but I think I'd still call them both out, let the catch stand and consequently disallow the run. Both runners were still guilty of the violation during the intervening play.
Guilty of what violation, exactly?
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trivia 3 MD Longhorn Softball 43 Thu Nov 08, 2012 07:34pm
A little trivia///// TimTaylor Basketball 0 Sat Dec 11, 2010 02:15am
Basketball Trivia Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Basketball 43 Thu May 06, 2010 11:06am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:31am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1