![]() |
STL-ATL IFF Call
my question is - all of the analysts keep saying the ump made the IFF call too late ........ what does that have to do with it? if its an IFF then its an IFF, making the call "late" has no impact on the BR's responsibilities/options.
what am i missing? |
You're missing the fact that the talking heads often are clueless as to certain rules.
|
I guess they dont get to attend the meetings where we get preached at(at least in Fed HS) to hold off the IFF as long as possible, especially on windy fields and we have till the next pitch to call IFF.
|
I thought maybe the timing DID matter in MLB ...
|
Quote:
The SS never turned his back to the IF The SS stopped under the ball, squared himself to the infield and raised his arms as to "call" for the ball I understand why the call was made. In this instance, the extra set of eyes on the LF line offered a different perception than what is normally seen by a crew of 4 or less. Thing the TH, fans and many players/coaches do not understand or appreciate about the rule is that it has nothing to do with the location of the ball or the fielder. It should also be noted that the physical signal is usually secondary to a verbal declaration, so no one except those on the field actually know when the umpire made the call. Now, in a tournament I worked today, there was a similar play, but the umpire judged it was not normal effort. Of course, all the AA started screaming infield fly like they really had a clue. |
Quote:
Many clinics I've been to teach that the IFF should be called when the ball reaches its apex. Yeah, that's going to be the case when the pop-up is routine and the infielder doesn't have far to move to make the ordinary effort catch. But, like in this play, the infielder may have to move a significant distance to get under the ball, and by the time that happens, the ball could be pretty close to the end of its travel. So an IFF call could be late, even though it's appropriate. I have no problem with the call here. F6 did have to go pretty far, but he was in position to make a catch, and the moment that happened, LFU made the call. It was immediately afterward that F6 decided to bail to give F7 the play. |
I think we, as fellow umpires, should alos be mindful that the crew worked 6 man last when??
Any chance the LFU hesitated wondering if it was his call to make, mechanics wise? That said, and YES, I am a disappointed Braves fan ....... righteous call. |
Quote:
|
I was listening to the game on the radio as I was driving home from work when the play happened. The radio guys were sure that IFF was not called and it should have been. They even seemed to have a grasp of the rule.
It wasn't until I got home later and saw it on Sports Center that I know it was exactly the correct call. Then I heard the game was being played under protest...exactly what was protested? That's a judgemnt call all the way and not subject to protest. |
How is the MLB rule phrased as far as "ordinary effort", if at all?
Huge Braves fan..more pissed about the errors than the call |
Quote:
I think the hesitation, assuming there was a hesitation (remember, we are only seeing a hand signal & not privy to any verbal which may have been offered), may be attributed to the umpire waiting on assurance the SS was going to reach the area to catch the ball. I know that isn't what WE are taught, but if you are going to rule an IF at this point, you damn well be sure. Quote:
As the crew chief, I may have wanted to get the crew off the field into the dressing room until everything was cleaned up. Yes, it needed to be discussed, but they certainly were not going to do that on the field, nor should they have. |
Quote:
BTW, my belief is the rule should be about proximity to bases (ability to double up runners if not caught); not "ordinary effort" judgements. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
F.Y.I - Softball Rules, 1936
Rule 19 - WHEN BATSMAN IS OUT
Section 8. Infield Fly. If, before two are out, while first and second, or first, second and third bases are occupied, he hits a fair fly ball, other than a line drive, that is handled or, in the opinion of the umpire, would have landed with or near the base lines. Okay, you think some of ASA's wording is off or vague. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:48am. |