![]() |
|
|
|||
This is not always the case. The umpire must decide which fielder is protected - and it can't be more than one. Sounds like in this case it was rather obvious, with the ball hit directly to F4 - but just because F3 doesn't touch the ball doesn't necessarily mean F4 is the protected fielder, and on a ball between them where BU feels F3 has the best play, you could indeed have OBS on F4 - even if neither fielder is able to actually get to it.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
thanks for the replies, as the play transpired, the BU hesitated, and right as I was in the process of raising my hands to give a dead ball signal and uttered "D" for dead ball, he gave an OBS signal, so i put my hands down and stopped speaking.
the DC came out, my partner and I talked, his claim was since the ball had passed a fielder (F3) who was trying to field the ball that F4 was no longer protected. I tried to talk him into INT, but to no avail... |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
In this play, for example, if R1 had run into F4 before or just as F3 was attempting to field the ball, you could judge that F3 was the protected fielder and call OBS on F4. But if the ball got past F3 and now F4 became the fielder most likely to make the play, and then R1 collided with her, then INT would be the appropriate call.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|