The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 06, 2012, 03:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
But since F3 did not touch the ball, then F4 is still a protected fielder.
This is not always the case. The umpire must decide which fielder is protected - and it can't be more than one. Sounds like in this case it was rather obvious, with the ball hit directly to F4 - but just because F3 doesn't touch the ball doesn't necessarily mean F4 is the protected fielder, and on a ball between them where BU feels F3 has the best play, you could indeed have OBS on F4 - even if neither fielder is able to actually get to it.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:29am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1