The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 26, 2012, 01:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suwanee Georgia
Posts: 1,050
mbcrowder beat me to it

Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
Until you started this thread, I assumed ALL rule sets in both softball and baseball prohibited a batter from intentionally contacting a foul batted ball a second time if the umpire judged the ball could go fair.

How about this: Does ASA allow the BR to intentionally contact a foul batted ball with her bat or body as she's running up the first base line if it appears it's going to go into fair territory? If not, where's that consistency you mentioned?
Yes, the body is the same. The batter-runner is only out if they contact a fair batted ball before reaching first base.

See 8.2.F.4
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association
Multicounty Softball Association
Multicounty Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by rwest; Thu Jul 26, 2012 at 01:29pm. Reason: typo
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:47am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1