The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Wed May 30, 2012, 06:53pm
Official Forum Member

Newbie Az ASA

Hi All,
I'm a newbie, Is anyone here an Az ASA fastpitch umpire?..I recently joined and I'm having a hard time finding out the process of umpiring I get the emails for availability, but I haven't taken the 2012 umpire exam or any clinics. Should I just jump right in? I have sent emails but It seems like there is no communication unless they are looking for people to umpire tournaments. What to do?
Old Wed May 30, 2012, 07:22pm
Official Forum Member

There are several on here from AZ, me, Andy, Paul, Daryl and Im sure some others I cant think of right off.

Rich Eddings is the central district UIC. Have you emailed him? Not sure what they are doing right now, but typically newbies are paired up with a mentor umpire to learn the ropes before being thrown to the wolves. What part of town are you in? There are some leagues they can assign some of the newer guys to to get a little experience.
Old Wed May 30, 2012, 08:25pm
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by RKBUmp View Post
There are several on here from AZ, me, Andy, Paul, Daryl and Im sure some others I cant think of right off.

Rich Eddings is the central district UIC. Have you emailed him? Not sure what they are doing right now, but typically newbies are paired up with a mentor umpire to learn the ropes before being thrown to the wolves. What part of town are you in? There are some leagues they can assign some of the newer guys to to get a little experience.
I have emailed Rich, he stated that I was registered and that was it. I live in the Queen Creek area and I'm signed up for the centrel district. Have you taken the exam or do they still give that? How can I get a copy of the rules book? Thanks for all your help!
Old Wed May 30, 2012, 09:09pm
Official Forum Member