The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Wed May 23, 2012, 01:00pm
Official Forum Member

Number of pitches after an injury to pitcher

I am a new softball coach to a 12U traveling team. I have been reading all of your expertise on here and it has been very helpful. I have two questions.
1. If your pitcher gets injured during the course of a game is it like baseball where you get to warm up until ready?
Or...is there a set number of pitches you get?
2. Besides this website, where could I get an online version of the ASA rule book?

Thanks!

Ryan
Old Wed May 23, 2012, 01:07pm
Official Forum Member

1. 5 pitches.
2. No "legal" online ASA rule books that I know of.
Old Wed May 23, 2012, 01:41pm
Official Forum Member

In scenario 1., are you asking how many warmup pitches a NEW pitcher would get if the pitcher in the game got hurt and had to be replaced?

If that is your question, it's umpires discretion.....If it is a new player coming off the bench that hasn't been throwing already, then I'm going to let her have as many as she needs.

If it is a player that is already in the game, I'm going to assume that her arm is fairly warm and allow a lot less.
Old Wed May 23, 2012, 02:58pm
Official Forum Member

I am a parent and have a question very similar, if not that same. My DD(pitcher) got hit last weekend on a ball hit right back at her. The umpires were nice and let her throw a few to see if she was OK. Is that legal or were they just being nice?

Thanks
Old Wed May 23, 2012, 03:56pm
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by greg99 View Post
I am a parent and have a question very similar, if not that same. My DD(pitcher) got hit last weekend on a ball hit right back at her. The umpires were nice and let her throw a few to see if she was OK. Is that legal or were they just being nice?

Thanks