The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 26, 2003, 09:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally posted by WestMichBlue
I disagree. 8.7.S is only valid when the pitch is released. ...Finally, let’s have an “angels on a pin-head” type discussion. When R2 leaves the base just before the pitcher releases the pitch, you call her out. But what rule do you use? Is she out under LB rule 8.7.T.2, because LB is still in effect until the pitch is released? Or is she out under 8.2.S (not maintaining contact until the pitch leaves the pitcher’s hand)?
WMB, I don't know why you are fretting so over this. 8-7S reads "fails to keep contact until" not "off the base when." There is no pin-head (control... control... no wise cracks...) for angels to get on. 8-7S will result in the batter being called out if she steps off the base while the pitcher is taking signals, for example. 8-7S is terminated when the pitch leaves the pitcher's hand. It is not a rule that is only valid for the split second just before skin looses touch with leather. It is valid the whole time the pitcher is preparing to pitch and the runner is on the base. If the runner steps off before the release (or, putting it another way, fails to maintain contact until the release), then the runner is out. 8-7S and 8-7T.2 overlap once the runner has stopped on a base and the pitcher is preparing to pitch.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:27am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1