View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 26, 2003, 12:17am
WestMichBlue WestMichBlue is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 964
Now that you have your thinking caps on, let’s judge the second part of the argument.

Same R1 off 2B, but this time she hustles back and touches the base.

The other side says that the LB rule ends for that runner when she stops on a base. (But somehow it is still in effect for other runners that are still off base!) Runner is stuck to the base and if she leaves it she is called out under the “not maintaining contact” rule (ASA 8.7.S, or NFHS 8.6.20, or USSSA 9.18.K)

I disagree. 8.7.S is only valid when the pitch is released. I submit that the LB is still in effect and R1 is called out under that rule (ASA 8.7.T.2 “Once a runner stops at a base for any reason, the runner will be declared out if leaving the base.”) NFHS has identical wording.

My position is that, if LB is not in effect, and/or F1 is not pitching, then there is no rule anywhere that prevents a runner from leaving a base.

Finally, let’s have an “angels on a pin-head” type discussion. When R2 leaves the base just before the pitcher releases the pitch, you call her out. But what rule do you use? Is she out under LB rule 8.7.T.2, because LB is still in effect until the pitch is released? Or is she out under 8.2.S (not maintaining contact until the pitch leaves the pitcher’s hand)?

WMB
Reply With Quote