The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Tue May 15, 2012, 10:36am
Official Forum Member

Obstruction

I am a coach looking for some guidance on calling obstruction. Situation was: I had runner on second with two outs. Bloop single to center field. Shortstop is in the baseline, and my runner and the shorstop do the hokey pokey before my runner gets past. I see the umpire put his fist out, so I waive my runner home figuring that, if she is out, the call won't stand because of the obstruction call. She was in fact out, and the out stood as I was told that the obstruction call only got her to the next base (which at the time was third). Is that the correct call?

Seems odd to me since she would have easily scored had the shortstop not obstructed her. If that is the correct call, why not have your shortstop do that on all base hits?

Thanks in advance for any interpretations here.
Old Tue May 15, 2012, 10:52am
Official Forum Member

Send a message via Yahoo to MNBlue
Sounds like your umpire didn't read it the way you did since your runner was only protected to 3B. His judgment vs yours. He wins.

I've told coaches (who've asked) that when obstruction is called, have your runner advance to the next base, since the obstructed runner can't be called out between the bases she was obstructed - keeping in mind that interference trumps obstruction. After reaching the next base, now you must coach the runner as if there was no obstruction since you can't read the umpire's mind to determine to where your runner is protected. If you think she can make the following base send her and live with the results. If not, hold her and be safe. If she was protected to the following base, the umpire will award her that base.

NFHS, NCAA, NAFA
"If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men"
Old Tue May 15, 2012, 12:25pm
Official Forum Member