The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 24, 2003, 08:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally posted by SC Ump
Quote:
Originally posted by IRISHMAFIA
If B4 hit the first pitch, I have no problem with the BOO call...
I'm confused as to why the first pitch. B3 is still the batter of record. B3 was allowing B4 to complete her turn at bat. My thoughts would be the no matter how many pitches B4 took, that it is still B3's turn. Once the B4 hit, then the appeal must be made prior to one pitch to B5.

Plus, it B4 did not get a hit on the first pitch, but perhaps fouled it off, and then took a called strike on the next pitch, would not the umpire have called her out on what she would think is two strikes?
Because if it is caught prior to that, you just replace B4 with B3. However, if B4 finished her turn at bat (semantics, you are correct, I failed to be specific), the defensive coach has a valid protest.

And I did skip a beat. A pitch to B5 would negate a BOO protest.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:56pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1