| 
		
			| DaveASA/FED | Tue May 01, 2012 09:26am |  
 
	Quote: 
	
		| 
 
					Originally Posted by xtreamump
					(Post 839643)
				 I am going to have an out even if I have to apply common sense. This is very good and healthy discussion. (Do not let it happen) 
 |  I agree with mbcrower what is the out for?  I have a question for you.  Let's take the assisting the runner out of this play for a minute.  If this situation had occurred and the runner just though 'O maybe I didn't touch' on her own and that runner then touched home after a following runner had scored.  Would you have considered that a proper re-touch and ruled the runner safe if the defensive properly appealed that runner missing the plate??
 
I am hoping that you would have ruled that runner out in my play listed above, since that's a straight by the book ruling.  So if you agree that in the above situation that the runner isn't allowed to re-touch home once a following runner has scored, then what in the OP is the out for??  There was nothing for that coach to assist the runner in doing.  Applying common sense isn't always a bad thing, but it should not be done when it is in direct conflict with the rules, as it would be if you call an out in this case. |