The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 19, 2003, 08:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 964
Had a couple firsts last night, one I called and one I'm glad I didn't have to call.

First I'll try to draw a mental picture for you of the field. High fence extends to a couple feet past 1B. Now look 90 deg to Right about 30". Low fence starts and angles back to original fence line, turns, and goes out to outfield fence corner. So there is a narrow triangle of space to the right of the fence line extended that the players use to enter/exit the field.

Situation: ASA Men's FP, I'm PU. High fly just over and right of 1B. F4 goes to fence, reaches over and snags ball just off player's bench. Mentally I am congratulating him for a fine catch when I look down and see both feet in the triangle. "No catch" I yell, and point to the ground. "Both feet in dead ball territory."

The hi-fives stopped and everyone looked at me with a look that said they were trying to figure out what the rule was and whether or not to challenge me. No one did, play went on and the batter hit the next pitch into CF for a clean single. Later some of the players talked to my partner and he told them they could not have a legal catch if the ball was over DB territory when caught! "Ohhh, right - partner!"

2nd Situation: fly ball over 3B. F6 goes to fence (in live ball territory), ball bounced off glove, into chest. F6 is now into fence, ball touches top rail of fence and back into body. F6 hits ground, and then I see yellow spheroid on ground. Relieved, I yell "Foul Ball!"

Relieved because I wasn't sure of my call if he had made the catch. The ball is in foul territority, not yet under control by the fielder, and touches the fence before being caught. The ball was actually trapped against the fence by his body as he fell. I have to believe this would be a foul ball even if he retained possesion - but it would have been a hard sell. Do you agree?

WMB

BTW - before you comment on 1st situation: both feet were entirely in DBT when the catch was made. One or both feet did not enter DBT after the catch.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:37am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1