The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 18, 2003, 09:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
In investigating the answer to a question on eteamz regarding "possession and control" for the look back rule to be in effect, I referred to ASA Case Play 8.8-67A.

Here it is for those without their Case Book handy...

R1 on 3B, F2 returns ball to F1 in the 8-foot circle who puts ball and glove between the legs to adjust headgear. R1 comes off of 3B and stops.

RULING: Time out is called and look back rule does not apply. As the ball must be held. (8-7T)
(weird punctuation in ruling is in the original)

I've underlined & bolded the part that I'm wondering about.

ASA is saying they want the umpire to call time here (apparently urequested by either team). What if R1 doesn't stop, but breaks for home and scores? If I declare time was called, I'll have one upset offensive coach!

What do you think?
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:35am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1