![]() |
|
|
|||
need a little help I have confused myself
Here is the situation: r1 on first batter hits pop up in vicinity of bag. Runner is standing on bag and never moves. Fielder coming over to make play runs into runner and both fall to ground. The ball lands about a foot in front of bag and rolls into foul territory without being touched. What would we have. This was in a high school game. I called foul ball and left it at that, after the game the defensive coach said he would have liked to have had the interference. Help me figure this out PLease. I feel like the runner was doing what she was supposed to do and did nothing to create any interference but I also think the fielder has the right of way to make the play. Thanks guys for the information in advance.
__________________
![]() What? Wuz that a strike?... |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
I do not see an exception for on the base in NFHS rules. Please cite.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
8-8-13 Runner is not out when hit by a fair batted ball while touching a base, unless the runner intentionally interferes with the ball or the fielder making a play.
|
|
|||
That's not the same as interfering with a fly ball. There is no reference to the batter being hit by the ball. If that were the case and the runner was on the base, the ball would have been fair...
__________________
Kill the Clones. Let God sort them out. No one likes an OOJ (Over-officious jerk). Realistic officiating does the sport good. |
|
|||
Did you actually read the last 6 words of the rule? "or the fielder making a play" The rule cited covers 2 seperate incidences of possible interference by the runner, getting hit by a fair batted ball while standing on a base, or interfering with a player making a play. In both instances the runners act would have to be intentional in order to be guilty of interference.
|
|
|||
Thank you.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Thanks guys you helped me out. Mbcrowder, I am not sure what the sigh is about, but...
All I wanted was to double check myself after the coach got me to overthinking a little. Sometimes all we need is someone else to discuss it in front of you to help clear the webs. Thanks again guys I read these posts alot but rarely post
__________________
![]() What? Wuz that a strike?... |
|
|||
BTW, had state NFHS rules interpreter confirm this was the appropriate rule for the scenario offered.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
Quote:
NFHS rule above is the same as ASA, except that ASA skips the first "when" and says "while" for the second "when" and does not say "fair". NFHS does not have a case but with identical wording, any interpretation would have to be the same ----- no INT on base unless intentional.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
...sigh...
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Confused | kwatson | Basketball | 15 | Sat Nov 19, 2011 05:23pm |
I'm confused | refnrev | Volleyball | 7 | Fri Jan 26, 2007 10:38am |
confused sub | just another ref | Basketball | 6 | Sun Jan 14, 2007 02:00pm |
Confused | truerookie | Basketball | 2 | Thu Nov 24, 2005 02:44am |
Confused | Dudly | Basketball | 20 | Thu Dec 09, 2004 07:47pm |