The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Not Your Everyday Play (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/89739-not-your-everyday-play.html)

EsqUmp Sun Mar 04, 2012 09:42pm

Not Your Everyday Play
 
Here is a variation of an interesting play I recently heard.

1 out. R3 on 3rd, R2 on 2nd and R1 on 1st. Batter hits a line drive to the short stop (no infield fly + 2nd out). F4 catches the ball but drops it in the transfer. The plate umpire immediate states and repeats, "That's a catch, the batter's out." R3, who was off with the pitch, stopped when the ball was hit, but then continued home without tagging up. F4 throws the ball to F2, who stands on the plate and catches the ball before R3 arrives. R3 crosses home plate; however, F2 doesn't tag R3. Instead, F2 throws down to F6, who is covering 2nd base and tags out R1, who was trying to advance. The base coaches throw their hands up in the air and the defense leaves the field.

What is the plate umpire's responsibility of addressing what happened at home plate? What is the call/mechanic. How would you make the call?

NCASAUmp Sun Mar 04, 2012 09:54pm

I'd hesitate just slightly to see if her body language indicates that she'll make an appeal. If she doesn't say anything about the lack of a tag-up, I'm calling safe. If they want to make a fourth out appeal later (and this sitch qualifies as one), they may certainly do so.

In this sitch, it sounds like the defense didn't make a proper live ball appeal, and this would be nothing more than a DMC. In ASA, if all of the infielders have left fair territory, they've given up their right to appeal.

I'd also wonder why R1 and R3 were on the wrong bases at the start of the play, and might consider tossing the coach as a result. :D

Seems pretty ordinary to me, though.

txtrooper Sun Mar 04, 2012 10:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ncasaump (Post 829741)
i'd hesitate just slightly to see if her body language indicates that she'll make an appeal. If she doesn't say anything about the lack of a tag-up, i'm calling safe. If they want to make a fourth out appeal later (and this sitch qualifies as one), they may certainly do so.

In this sitch, it sounds like the defense didn't make a proper live ball appeal, and this would be nothing more than a dmc. In asa, if all of the infielders have left fair territory, they've given up their right to appeal.

I'd also wonder why r1 and r3 were on the wrong bases at the start of the play, and might consider tossing the coach as a result. :d

seems pretty ordinary to me, though.

+1

IRISHMAFIA Sun Mar 04, 2012 10:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by EsqUmp (Post 829739)
Here is a variation of an interesting play I recently heard.

1 out. R3 on 3rd, R2 on 2nd and R1 on 1st. Batter hits a line drive to the short stop (no infield fly + 2nd out). F4 catches the ball but drops it in the transfer. The plate umpire immediate states and repeats, "That's a catch, the batter's out." R3, who was off with the pitch, stopped when the ball was hit, but then continued home without tagging up. F4 throws the ball to F2, who stands on the plate and catches the ball before R3 arrives. R3 crosses home plate; however, F2 doesn't tag R3. Instead, F2 throws down to F6, who is covering 2nd base and tags out R1, who was trying to advance. The base coaches throw their hands up in the air and the defense leaves the field.

What is the plate umpire's responsibility of addressing what happened at home plate? What is the call/mechanic. How would you make the call?

Safe call at the plate since there was no tag. The umpire can preface call with, "no tag".

No appeal available once infielders leave fair territory.

SRW Mon Mar 05, 2012 02:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by EsqUmp (Post 829739)
Batter hits a line drive to the short stop (no infield fly + 2nd out). F4 catches the ball but drops it in the transfer.

I'd also wonder how F4 caught the line drive to the short stop.

EsqUmp Mon Mar 05, 2012 07:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SRW (Post 829801)
I'd also wonder how F4 caught the line drive to the short stop.

Typographical error. F4 / 2nd baseman.



I use R3-3rd, R2-2nd, & R1-1st. I think by keeping the numbers consistent with the bases, it reads more easily. I think to say R1 on 3rd and R3 on 1st just starts a conversation with confusion. Just my preference.


What, if anything, do you say regarding R3 scoring once the inning concludes?

NCASAUmp Mon Mar 05, 2012 07:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by EsqUmp (Post 829810)
Typographical error. F4 / 2nd baseman.



I use R3-3rd, R2-2nd, & R1-1st. I think by keeping the numbers consistent with the bases, it reads more easily. I think to say R1 on 3rd and R3 on 1st just starts a conversation with confusion. Just my preference.


What, if anything, do you say regarding R3 scoring once the inning concludes?

Nothing. I'd already called her safe, so she's safe and her score counts until the defense properly appeals. Once the infielders left fair territory, they lost their chance to appeal.

I'm not sure what mechanic you're asking for. Is there something you think an umpire should do in this situation?

IRISHMAFIA Mon Mar 05, 2012 07:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by EsqUmp (Post 829810)
I use R3-3rd, R2-2nd, & R1-1st. I think by keeping the numbers consistent with the bases, it reads more easily. I think to say R1 on 3rd and R3 on 1st just starts a conversation with confusion. Just my preference.

Does the 3rd day of trial come before the 1st if the trial started on the 2nd of the month?

Wouldn't help much if I tried to communicate in ASL in a room full of people who cannot read it. If you want to communicate with people, you need to do so in their language

Quote:

What, if anything, do you say regarding R3 scoring once the inning concludes?
Nothing to say without a prompt.

EsqUmp Mon Mar 05, 2012 07:23am

Dave, with all of the commotion and a quick throw by the catcher down to 2nd base, make may not fully hear the "no tag, safe." So I am wondering whether, for clarity, should the plate umpire, in your opinion, reiterate "Run scores, count the run?" once the 3rd out is recorded?

NCASAUmp Mon Mar 05, 2012 07:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by EsqUmp (Post 829815)
Dave, with all of the commotion and a quick throw by the catcher down to 2nd base, make may not fully hear the "no tag, safe." So I am wondering whether, for clarity, should the plate umpire, in your opinion, reiterate "Run scores, count the run?" once the 3rd out is recorded?

Not necessary. There was no force out for the third out, and we've already called her safe. Why should we treat this any differently than any other missed tag-up?

Changing the mechanic would tip off the defense that they missed something.

Out of curiosity (not being flippant here), did you call baseball before calling softball?

EsqUmp Mon Mar 05, 2012 07:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by NCASAUmp (Post 829817)
Out of curiosity (not being flippant here), did you call baseball before calling softball?

I began with softball and aside from an occasional baseball game, only umpire softball. I was not, however, trained under ASA, as most can tell...

IRISHMAFIA Mon Mar 05, 2012 07:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by EsqUmp (Post 829819)
I began with softball and aside from an occasional baseball game, only umpire softball. I was not, however, trained under ASA, as most can tell...

This isn't just ASA. NFHS & PONY and all other softball organizations of which I am aware use the same reference format of numbering the player based upon the batting order of that half inning.

MD Longhorn Mon Mar 05, 2012 09:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by EsqUmp (Post 829815)
Dave, with all of the commotion and a quick throw by the catcher down to 2nd base, make may not fully hear the "no tag, safe." So I am wondering whether, for clarity, should the plate umpire, in your opinion, reiterate "Run scores, count the run?" once the 3rd out is recorded?

Only after no appeal is possible any longer - then I would say exactly that to the scorekeeper.

The reason you were asked about baseball is that they DO use the R3 on 3rd, R2 on 2nd nomenclature. Softball (all codes) uses R1 as the lead runner, wherever she is, R2 the next runner, etc.

NCASAUmp Mon Mar 05, 2012 11:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 829852)
Only after no appeal is possible any longer - then I would say exactly that to the scorekeeper.

The reason you were asked about baseball is that they DO use the R3 on 3rd, R2 on 2nd nomenclature. Softball (all codes) uses R1 as the lead runner, wherever she is, R2 the next runner, etc.

I would only ask the scorekeeper if s/he got that last run, just to make sure they understand that the run goes on the board (after no appeal is possible, as Mike said).

I also brought up the baseball question because their mechanics can differ on some appeals.

EsqUmp Mon Mar 05, 2012 11:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 829822)
This isn't just ASA. NFHS & PONY and all other softball organizations of which I am aware use the same reference format of numbering the player based upon the batting order of that half inning.

I understand that. NCAA, Referee Magazine and PONY (they are clearing up the book) use it the way I worded it. Since I deal with those organizations more, I use their terminology.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:56pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1