![]() |
Not Your Everyday Play
Here is a variation of an interesting play I recently heard.
1 out. R3 on 3rd, R2 on 2nd and R1 on 1st. Batter hits a line drive to the short stop (no infield fly + 2nd out). F4 catches the ball but drops it in the transfer. The plate umpire immediate states and repeats, "That's a catch, the batter's out." R3, who was off with the pitch, stopped when the ball was hit, but then continued home without tagging up. F4 throws the ball to F2, who stands on the plate and catches the ball before R3 arrives. R3 crosses home plate; however, F2 doesn't tag R3. Instead, F2 throws down to F6, who is covering 2nd base and tags out R1, who was trying to advance. The base coaches throw their hands up in the air and the defense leaves the field. What is the plate umpire's responsibility of addressing what happened at home plate? What is the call/mechanic. How would you make the call? |
I'd hesitate just slightly to see if her body language indicates that she'll make an appeal. If she doesn't say anything about the lack of a tag-up, I'm calling safe. If they want to make a fourth out appeal later (and this sitch qualifies as one), they may certainly do so.
In this sitch, it sounds like the defense didn't make a proper live ball appeal, and this would be nothing more than a DMC. In ASA, if all of the infielders have left fair territory, they've given up their right to appeal. I'd also wonder why R1 and R3 were on the wrong bases at the start of the play, and might consider tossing the coach as a result. :D Seems pretty ordinary to me, though. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
No appeal available once infielders leave fair territory. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
I use R3-3rd, R2-2nd, & R1-1st. I think by keeping the numbers consistent with the bases, it reads more easily. I think to say R1 on 3rd and R3 on 1st just starts a conversation with confusion. Just my preference. What, if anything, do you say regarding R3 scoring once the inning concludes? |
Quote:
I'm not sure what mechanic you're asking for. Is there something you think an umpire should do in this situation? |
Quote:
Wouldn't help much if I tried to communicate in ASL in a room full of people who cannot read it. If you want to communicate with people, you need to do so in their language Quote:
|
Dave, with all of the commotion and a quick throw by the catcher down to 2nd base, make may not fully hear the "no tag, safe." So I am wondering whether, for clarity, should the plate umpire, in your opinion, reiterate "Run scores, count the run?" once the 3rd out is recorded?
|
Quote:
Changing the mechanic would tip off the defense that they missed something. Out of curiosity (not being flippant here), did you call baseball before calling softball? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
The reason you were asked about baseball is that they DO use the R3 on 3rd, R2 on 2nd nomenclature. Softball (all codes) uses R1 as the lead runner, wherever she is, R2 the next runner, etc. |
Quote:
I also brought up the baseball question because their mechanics can differ on some appeals. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
1. R3 is on third base and R2 is on second when B4 hits a ground ball to F6. While running to third, R2 inadvertently hinders F6 who is fielding the ball. At the time of the hindrance, R3 has not reached the plate. To go with a Sheldonism, "In what universe is there any order which runs, 3, 2, 4?" What happened to "1"? The softball method also allows for continuity in extended and continuations of any scenario(s). The baseball method is a one and done and a complete reset. And that is my personal preference. |
Quote:
2012 PONY Girls Softball Rule Book (English Version) |
Quote:
*knock* *knock* *knock* Irish... *knock* *knock* *knock* Irish... *knock* *knock* *knock* Irish... *knock* *knock* *knock* Irish... *knock* *knock* *knock* Irish... I will say this, though... At least EsqUmp specified in his post which runners were which. Too often, people assume that everyone knows on which base R3 had started. |
Quote:
PS - Referee Magazine's reputation on this site is BARELY ahead of Joe Morgan or Lisa Hernandez. Would recommend not using them as a source for anything. :) |
Quote:
|
Please help me if I'm missing something, but wouldn't this be the cousin of the IF? An intentional drop, dead ball, runners return.
Seems by the reaction of F6, here was an opportunity for a DP... |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
xtreamump
A little bit Muddy, 1 means 1, & 2 is 2nd ?
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
I would concur with your opinion of Joe Morgan and Lisa Fernandez though. They are almost as bad as Joe Buck and Tim McCarver. |
Quote:
If you use the wrong shorthand, some of your responses will use "your" shorthand, and others will use softball shorthand, and confusion and chaos will set in. We've all seen it - a lot. This is why you're being asked to use typical softball shorthand. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
One more reason why my new forum is going to be "flame-free."
"This bickering is pointless." ~Governor Tarkin, Star Wars, Episode IV. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Joel I would suggest that everyone ignore this troll.......he is good.....but does not even reach the top ten......that should really piss him off. Joel |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:11am. |