The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Wed Jun 04, 2003, 09:13am
Official Forum Member

Hello. I discovered this softball umpires forum two months ago. The intelligence and insight of the regular responders has made me a dilligent follower of the conversations and information posted here. This site is great, as are you people who help with answers, advice, and opinions. Needless to say this is my first post here.

I am a veteran Men's Rec SP player, and this is my first year as an ASA SP Umpire in Connecticut. I enjoy being involved in the game, either as a player or an ump, and this board has helped my education.

This happened in my game last night. R1 on 2B, R2 on 1B, no outs. Ground ball is hit to F5, who fields the ball. As R1 approaches F5, R1 stops as F5 tries to make a play on him, but misses tagging him. R1 then takes two steps back towards 2B, as F5 lunges at him high for tag, but misses again. R1 ducks completely under F5 and runs towards 3B. (Amazingly, R1 has done all of this while staying in the baseline) R1 and F5 race to 3B, where F5 just beats R1 to 3B in a bang-bang play. F5 is out on the force.

My question is this: Should R1 have been out when he stepped back towards 2B?

Rule 8.3.D states that runners can't run bases in reverse order to confuse fielders. In this situation, the runner is not trying to confuse the fielder, he's trying to avoid being tagged out, although it may seem confusing to the 3B.

Rule 8.2.H states that the batter-runner can't step back towards home plate to avoid or delay a fielder's tag. Does this apply to the R1 above, since he's forced to 3B and the play is being made on him?

What's the right call? Thanks in advance.
Old Wed Jun 04, 2003, 09:26am
Official Forum Member

Welcome to the board, and to the "dark side!"