The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 28, 2003, 10:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 43
Send a message via AIM to zebraman55
Question

R3 on third, standing on the bag, gets beaned by a grounder while on the bag.

What's the call? ASA, NF

Asking on this side cuz I coach U14 and U18 and can't find the rule.

thanks!
__________________
patrick schneider
zebraman55
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 28, 2003, 10:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
I assume you are talking about a fair ball that the runner did not intentionally interfere with.

The runner is not out. If the nearest fielder (almost certainly F5) is in front of the runner, the ball is in play. If the nearest fielder is behind the runner, the ball is immediately dead, the batter is awarded 1B, and other runners advance only if forced.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 28, 2003, 10:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 43
Send a message via AIM to zebraman55
Question Why is the ball dead?

The batted fair ball hits R3, who is rooted on third, what causes it to become dead? The fact that the runner "interfered" with the batted ball? Is R3 out? You mention that B1 is awarded 1st, and other runners advance one base.

__________________
patrick schneider
zebraman55
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 28, 2003, 10:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 75
If the runner is hit with a fair batted ball while touching a base, the runner is not out. The ball is dead or remains in play depending upon the position of the fielders. If the ball has passed a fielder or touched a fielder, the ball remains in play. If the ball has not passed a fielder, the ball is dead, and batter-runner placed on 1st base. All other runners advance only if forced by placing batter-runner on 1st.
If the runner intentionally interferes with the ball while on the base, the runner is out.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 28, 2003, 10:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 164
First time here, I think I can help with this one.

Rule 8, Section 1, Part E

If the runner is hit with a fair batter ball while touching a base, the runner is not out. Effect: If the runner is hit before the ball passes a fielder without being touched, the ball is dead. When a fair ball touches a runner who is in contact with a base, the ball remains live or is ruled dead depending on the position of the fielder closest to the base. The batter is awarded first base and as previously mentioned, other runners advance if forced.

Hope that helps.

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 28, 2003, 10:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 43
Send a message via AIM to zebraman55
Talking

Thanks, all!

I think I understand!

Tough going between both baseball and softball code on this one!

In NF softball, is the rule the same as ASA?

__________________
patrick schneider
zebraman55
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 28, 2003, 10:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 164
I think the rule is pretty much the same anywhere, but don't quote me on that.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 28, 2003, 10:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 994
NFHS ruling is the same. I have never seen a softball organization that was different on this.
__________________
Dan
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 28, 2003, 11:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 508
Smile

[
Tough going between both baseball and softball code on this one!
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~~

Look at it this way, BB allows runners to lead-off. A R3 is(well supposed) to be off the bag in foul territory, he gets hit with batted ball....foul. He gets hit while on the bag(any bag for that matter) he is "stupid runner" and deserves to be called out!

Softball, runners gotta hang out on bag till F1 releases, some of these women(young girls) can throw gas and batters can smack the crap outa it(like my 12 year old), so I can see why ASA allows a hit runner on bag to not be called out.....Easy, HUH!!??
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 29, 2003, 06:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,538
Quote:
Originally posted by zebraman55
Thanks, all!

I think I understand!

Tough going between both baseball and softball code on this one!

In NF softball, is the rule the same as ASA?

Baseball, softball. Different game, different rules, different philosophies.

__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:09pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1