The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 19, 2003, 11:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally posted by Andy
ASA or NFHS FP. Bases loaded, 0 outs or 1 out.

Ball hit back to pitcher, throws to home for the force on R1. F2 throws to first but hits BR with the ball. BR is out of the running lane. Interference is called.

How many outs do you have on this play and where do you place the remaining runners?

(This actually happened this weekend in a 12u ASA national qualifier tournament)
Speaking ASA and assuming the call on the BR was legitimate, you just rang up two outs. Unless the inning was over, R2 & R3 are placed on the base last touched at the time of the interference.

ASA Rule 1 Force out
Rule 8.7.C
Rule 8.2.E & Effect

That was easy, but please don't tell me that when the umpire ruled on the 3' lane violation, they also ruled it alleviated the force and did not rule R1 out at the plate.

__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:27pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1