The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 14, 2003, 09:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 69

IN ASA for 10U,

Only 1 base per pitch may be stolen, but not home.

Is there any condition where a runner at 3rd can run home if the ball is not put into play by a hit?

If Batter is walked with base on balls, with runner at 3rd, offense sends BR to 2nd who doesn't violate the look back rule. Pitcher makes an attempt on BR (throw to 2nd), can runner at 3rd go home?

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 14, 2003, 10:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally posted by sprivitor
IN ASA for 10U,

Only 1 base per pitch may be stolen, but not home.

Is there any condition where a runner at 3rd can run home if the ball is not put into play by a hit?
Yes

Quote:
If Batter is walked with base on balls, with runner at 3rd, offense sends BR to 2nd who doesn't violate the look back rule. Pitcher makes an attempt on BR (throw to 2nd), can runner at 3rd go home?
No.

I wish we could dispel this notion that the ASA 10U rules state that the runner can only "steal" one base per pitch and can't "steal" home.

The rule says, "Runners starting at first or second base are entitled to advance or steal (not just steal) one base only per pitch... Runners starting at third base may not steal or advance home.... Runners can only score on: a) a batted ball, b) a base on balls or hit batter with the bases full, or c) on an awarded base when the ball goes out of play or on an illegal pitch. (exerpts from ASA 8-4-H)

In your situation, R1 cannot advance home on the attempt to throw the BR out (unless the ball is thrown out of play, and in that case, home is awarded). And, the BR will be returned to 1B if she is not tagged.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 15, 2003, 04:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 6
Our group has had a long-running debate of the U10 base stealing/advancement restrictions, as it pertains to the runner on third base. Situation: R1 leads (legally) with the release of the pitch. F2, after receiving the pitch, attempts to pick off R1 with a throw to third. The ball goes out of play. Conventional thinking is that R1 should score per the awarded base provision (item c of the rule). A few others have taken the position that since R1 cannot steal home, she should not be awarded home as a result of the errant play on her "attempt." If I'm the coach, I probably insist that the catcher return the ball directly to the pitcher. If the application of these restrictions at the other bases are to encourage the catchers to develop their throwing, should they apply in this situation as well?
__________________
Yerout
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 15, 2003, 04:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Well, I won't get into what the rule should be, except to observe that it is a compromise between having rules that encourage development of defensive skills (especially the catcher) without tipping the scales too much and trying to avoid crushingly boring games.

In ASA, in the situation you describe, the runner would be awarded home on the overthrow out of play.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 15, 2003, 06:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: woodville, tx
Posts: 3,156
Quote:
Originally posted by sprivitor

IN ASA for 10U,

Only 1 base per pitch may be stolen, but not home.

Is there any condition where a runner at 3rd can run home if the ball is not put into play by a hit?

If Batter is walked with base on balls, with runner at 3rd, offense sends BR to 2nd who doesn't violate the look back rule. Pitcher makes an attempt on BR (throw to 2nd), can runner at 3rd go home?

sprivitor,

In ASA a walked 10U player may only advance to first. Period.

ASA Rule 8 Sec 4 H. 4. A batter, who receives a base on balls,
cannot advance past 1st base. If the BR advances further, once the
ball becomes dead, return the BR to 1st base.


glen

Even though I see Tom has previously been pointed out.

[Edited by whiskers_ump on May 15th, 2003 at 06:06 PM]
__________________
glen _______________________________
"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things
that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines.
Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails.
Explore. Dream. Discover."
--Mark Twain.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:30pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1