The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 13, 2003, 01:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
In Fed, if a runner on 2B is stealing when the catcher obstructs the batter's swing, the batter is awarded 1B and the runner is awarded 3B. If the runner on 2B is not stealing, she stays at 2B.

I can't seem to find a parallel ruling in ASA. Does anybody know for certain whether ASA gives the runner 3B?

As I remember, ASA does award home to a runner stealing home on a catcher's obstruction play.

Also, does anyone know whether the coach gets his choice of the obstruction or the result of the play if the ball is not hit? Example: Runner on 3B, not stealing. Batter swings and knocks the catcher's glove off. Ball goes back to the screen and the runner is able to score. Even though the batter did not hit the ball, does the coach get to choose the result of the "play"? The consensus on the baseball thread was that the coach does NOT get a choice, and the runner has to go back. But ASA may be different.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:37pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1