Quote:
Originally posted by Newter
Hey guys. What about ASA 8-1D Effect 4b?
"The catcher or any other fielder shall not: b) On a swing or attempted bunt, touch the batter or his bat with a runner on third base trying to score by means of a squeeze play or a steal. --> The runner shall be awarded home plate and the batter shall be awarded firest base on the obstruction. <-- The ball is dead.
Looks to me like Effect 3 says if the runner on third base is NOT stealing, then, they must stay at third if not forced. Effect 4b says if the runner in stealing, then, you award them home.
Or am I missing something?
Newter
|
This is why I always ask folks to not set up a second different scenario within a thread addressing the original. This all started with a runner on 2B. Now we are talking about a runner on 3B, running or not running.
The rule above is meant to not penalize the offensive team if CO is the ruling. Under the standard CO, this runner would NOT be allowed to score if the manager accepts the CO instead of the play. With this ruling in place, the manager is not forced to accept the result of the play to get the run.
For example, if there is a runner on 3B which breaks for the plate, the catcher jumps up in front of the batter and intercepts the pitch, and may likely tag the runner out. Well, under the standard CO ruling, the runner would have to return to 3B, hence taking a possible run away from the offensive team via a rules violation.
Hope that helps.