View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 15, 2003, 10:35pm
greymule greymule is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
Correction

Sorry, guys. I erred in my original post. In both ASA and Fed, runners advance only if forced on catcher's obstruction. Under both codes, even if my runner on 2B had been trying to steal 3B, she goes back to 2B if the obstruction penalty is invoked.

This is what I get for studying too many rule books. I was confused because in Fed baseball, runners who are stealing on the pitch get the base they were advancing to (and the batter gets 1B).

Both Fed and ASA softball do allow a runner stealing home to score, and the batter goes to 1B, for the reasons Mike explained.

Thanks for your answers to the other question: The coach can elect to take the result of the play even if the batter didn't hit the ball. The obvious case of that would be the winning run scoring from 3B.



[Edited by greymule on May 15th, 2003 at 10:58 PM]
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote