The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 12, 2003, 01:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 101
Question

Scenario:
Runner on third.

Batter hits line drive and it's heading foul, straight at the on-deck player, who doesn't know it's coming.

Ball hits on-deck player, so interference, and ball stops on foul side (although I doubt that matters at this point).


I believe the rule states that the "runner" closest to the interference is called out.

Two questions:

a) At our recertification clinic this year, the clinician told us we would call the on-deck player out.

Anyone heard of this rule ??


b) While on the topic, what if there's no runners on base and the on-deck batter gets hit ... is the batter out or, again, would the on-deck player be out??


Thanks in advance for any comments/answers/etc.

Regards.
__________________
bobbrix
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:04am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1