The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 23, 2003, 09:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 69
Situation: R1 at first. Batter hits to F4. F9 is playing very close to F3 infield position. Batter hits between first and 2nd. Both F4 and F9 are making a play on the ball directly in the path between first and second base. Ball hit is between the 2 players and both reaching for ball when R1 splits F4 and F9 and flips over both F4 and F9. F4 comes up with the ball. R1 is on ground in pain and play continues until a tag is made (about 15 seconds after the collision) and R1 is out.

Is F4 protected or can both F4 and F9 be protected on this play as far as interference is concerned? Or, if only one is protected, then could obstruction be the call?

Umpire didn't rule either and went with the tag out but stated he should've called interference.

Thoughts?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:40am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1