View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 23, 2003, 10:24pm
JEL JEL is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 910
Wow, I bet that was fun, (hope no injuries though).
8-7-J-1,2,3 state runner interferes with "a" fielder.
8-7-J-5 states "any" ...deflected batted ball. Runner in my mind is out on interference, and should have been called as such. If runner was down for 15 secs, we should have had time called, dead ball, runner cant be put out until live play resumes, (unless a dead ball appeal). I had a similar situation three days ago, the right call was made eventually, but due to an injury, I stopped play before making correct call. In you scene, I dont see obstruction, and the umpire got the out right, even (maybe) in the wrong way. I applaud that ump for admitting he might have been wrong.

[Edited by JEL on May 23rd, 2003 at 10:31 PM]
Reply With Quote