The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 17, 2011, 10:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 10
thanks for the replys. I did figure they were both wrong..but I was sure. I know the coach went out and talked to the ump on both times. No protest on either call.

now, i afraid to ask this question...if the coach did protest the call(s) and the protest was uphead, what would have been the out come?

http://www.gorillagold.com/index.htm
heres the towel i'm talking about. legal in ASA. The pitcher where tuck it in their pants, in back. My DD has one...sure makes your hand tacky. she loves it.

Thanks.

Last edited by greg21001; Mon Oct 17, 2011 at 10:34am. Reason: put in link
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 17, 2011, 03:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by greg21001 View Post
now, i afraid to ask this question...if the coach did protest the call(s) and the protest was uphead, what would have been the out come?
If a coach protests a call ... in most places, the scorekeeper merely notes the situation at the moment of the protest and you move on. Then, after the game and assuming the protester still wants to protest (maybe they won anyway), the protest committee would decide what the proper ruling should have been - and then the game restarts from the moment of the incorrect ruling - with that ruling corrected.

In some settings (usually tourney, but I've worked a league that handled protests like this), protests are handled on site, games stopped until ruled upon.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 17, 2011, 05:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by greg21001 View Post

Gorilla Gold
heres the towel i'm talking about. legal in ASA. The pitcher where tuck it in their pants, in back. My DD has one...sure makes your hand tacky. she loves it.

Thanks.
Why do you think it is legal in ASA? There are specific rules concerning this which includes a published list of approved drying agents for ASA. Unfortunately, I cannot find a published list, so it may be, but I would like to know where the pitcher keeps the towel. Rule book says it is to be kept in the pitcher's pocket. Don't know how that would work with its tacky nature.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 17, 2011, 06:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 20
Gorilla Gold - History
__________________
NSA NCAA
I AM THE WORST UMPIRE IN THE WORLD (So I have been told)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:35am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1