The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 14, 2003, 09:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 298
Quote:
Originally posted by oatmealqueen
I was watching a womens NCAA fastpitch game on TV the other night and have a question about a play.
R1 on 1st.. Pitch is delivered.. catcher catches ball and tries to pick off R1 who has taken a big lead...throw is wild and rolls into the dead ball territory where the media has set up cameras and tri-pods.
Umpires award R1 2nd base.
I thought that they should have awarded her 3rd. Is the NCAA rule different than FED rule 8-4-g?
I took that as an implication that DBT had been setup for the media. That may or may not have been true. I was just quoting the rule from the rulebook. If DBT had been previously outlined in the pre-game, then I can not imagine a NCAA Ump getting the play wrong....Further, I can not imagine a NCAA Coach not coming completely unglued at a gross mis-application of the rules.

Once again, I did not see the game. I can only base my comment(s) regarding coaches/umpires on the conferences we work.

Who was playing and what conference?????
__________________
We Don't Look for Problems.....They find Us.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:03am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1