![]() |
|
|
|||
Interferance / Obstruction
Let me first say I saw this through Daddy goggles not my umpire goggles. FED rules, 0 out R1 on 2b, R2 on 1b, F6 playing maybe a step in back of base line. Sharply hit ball up the middle, maybe 3ft to F6 side of 2B. R1 and F6 run into each other. From view in stands, I thought ball was past F6 and she had no play on the ball anyway, and should have been OBS. BU call R1 out for interference. Fans on our side go nuts. I realize this is HTBT territory and I try to be objective, but any chance this could have been OBS? I do ASA and couple other alphabets but not FED.
|
|
|||
Sure. It COULD have been OBS. It could have also been INT. Seems your umpire thought it was the latter, and it is his judgment that matters in this case.
If you want us to make a decision on which it was based on the limited data that you can supply, it just isn't posisble.
__________________
Scott It's a small world, but I wouldn't want to have to paint it. |
|
|||
![]()
Thanks, I just wanted to know if it was POSSIBLE to judge it OBS given the limited information supplied. I know it was his judgement not mine that counts. Sometimes I am the lone voice of reason in our stands when a call doesn't go our way, even when the umpire is right
![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
I think for me to rule the other way, it would have to be after F6 obviously knew she had no play and gave up. Others may differ, but if there's ANY benefit of doubt here it's going to the fielder.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Quote:
Whether stated in ASA or not, the fielders just can't be blindly protected every time they head in the direction of a batted ball. Look at ASA 8-8.C, and FED 8-8-3; in both, the runner is not out if (OK, applies to multiple fielders attempting) contacts one that cannot make an out. So, you are looking at these as isolated rules that can't be taken together; so that if a SINGLE fielder chasing cannot reasonably make an out, but contacts the runner, you would have interference solely on the word "attempting"? While not necessarily in love with the FED definition and the need to define initial play, I think they got the "reasonable chance" part right in the definition. I believe there have been such discussions in ASA, too; but the people I have heard discuss it don't think there is need to further refine what they think should already be understood (even if it isn't). Not the first time they have chosen not to to clarify wording that is ambiguous if taken literally.
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
|
|||
I'm glad someone defined "rule book".
![]() ![]() ![]()
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Honestly, Steve, I suspect that if you and I viewed 100 such hits and possible INT/OBS situations, we'd rule the same on all of them. I was not implying that the fielder has free reign regardless. Just trying to emphasize to the OP that it's gotta be OBVIOUS that she has no play for an OBS call to come from this play.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Some good umpires I know don't realize that in NCAA is says another infielder has a reasonable chance to make a play, where as NFHS says another fielder has a reasonable chance to make an out. Big difference here. Dave
|
|
|||
Initial Play
Quote:
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association Multicounty Softball Association Multicounty Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Rereading the rule just now, it seems clear to me that if the fielder is TRYING to play the batted ball (no matter how unrealistic her chances at getting there), the runner has to avoid her. Same in both codes I just read.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Yes, but....
If the ball is by her and there's no chance she can reach it I have obstruction. Most balls hit up the middle are moving rapidly. She had her shot at it and missed. She put herself in a difficult spot by playing so close to the baseline. I know there is no requirement for her to be out of the baseline but if I notice a player playing that close to it, she doesn't get any protection unless she is fielding a batted ball. In this case I doubt she could have a play on the ball.
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association Multicounty Softball Association Multicounty Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
This is not true in ASA.
__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts. |
|
|||
Yes, that is actually the interpretation.
If you don't believe that it is, how would you rule on an initial play that is bobbled? If the ball hits F6's glove and falls immediately in front of her, she goes to grab it and R2 runs in to her, is that interference? If the ball trickles away about a foot and F6 doesn't even have to move her feet to grab it and R2 runs in to her, is that interference? If I line drive hits the heel of her glove, pops out and is airborne right in front of her and R2 crashes in to her, is that interference? Tell us what your/ASA's guideline is for covering this play. Just because you never heard of the "step and a reach" applied to ASA doesn't mean it doesn't exist. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
Really? Citation please.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Do you have interferance | roadking | Softball | 11 | Sun Dec 28, 2008 11:24pm |
Interferance? | TwoDot | Baseball | 3 | Mon Jun 19, 2006 10:11pm |
interferance? | Glen G | Softball | 3 | Sun Jun 29, 2003 09:53pm |
interferance | jumpmaster | Baseball | 3 | Thu Apr 18, 2002 01:01pm |