The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 02, 2003, 07:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally posted by fastballb
Bases are loaded, 2 outs. Shortstop is normal position and playing 2 to 3 feet behind the baseline. B1 hits an average groundball back up the middle, which appears to be a base hit. The shortstop miss reads the groundball and breaks up into the baseline. After breaking up into the baseline she then breaks towards the ball which is now up the middle and behind her, but while doing so, the shortstop and R2 runs into each other. You make the call...Is the runner out for interfence because the fielder is breaking towards the ball or is this a no call, or is this a judgement call or is it still consider the fielder is fielding the groundball and the runner must yeild????
Speaking ASA

If there is even a remote chance this fielder has a PLAY on the ball, it is interference. Where and when the fielder breaks is irrelevant. The runner should yield.



[Edited by IRISHMAFIA on Apr 2nd, 2003 at 12:09 PM]
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:10am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1