The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 29, 2003, 02:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally posted by IRISHMAFIA
... snip ... I think too many people are confusing this with contacting a batted ball twice as opposed to interfering with the catcher's ability to make an out.
ditto, there is no batted ball
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 31, 2003, 01:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Idaho
Posts: 1,474
Mike,

I didn't quote the entire/whole rule (FED 7-3-6)

The ellipsis, "..." means that I left something out. The something in this case was something that I felt was not pertinent but given your concern about the use of the word "whole," I will explain. The first sentence of this rule (following the introduction of Rule 7 Batting, Section 3 Batting Infractions) Article 6 states: "If the bat breaks and is hit by the ball or hits a runner or a fielder, no interference will be called." It continues with the portion I quoted and felt was pertinent, "If a whole bat is thrown and interferes with a defensive player attempting a play, interference shall be called." I was focusing on the interference portion of the rule and somewhat missed the assumption of hitting the ball.

I understand that the ball has not been batted (swing and a miss). However, the infractions listed in Rule 7, Section 3 are not specific to having "hit" the ball. I also recognise that the first part of this rule concerns a broken bat (surprisingly, I have seen a metal bat break) and that generally, the only way to break a bat is to hit a ball.

So the first part of this rule involves hitting a ball, breaking a bat, and the flying portions of the bat. The second part of the rule, one would assume also involves hitting a ball, NOT breaking the bat, and the thrown bat interferes with the defense's efforts. Perhaps it is not applicable, as Cecil says, because the ball has not been batted.

ASA has definite rules addressing this very specific situation. FED is missing those rules but I must assume that the same result as ASA (interference call by the umpire) is likely desired.

In my opinion, the batter has already had her opportunity and was unsuccessful. To call her out at this point is not going to be heatedly discussed and won't be seen as a great injustice by the offensive coach. Obviously this last is my opinion and I don't have the rules to back it up - or to say that such a ruling is wrong. But perhaps I will be prepared when it happens in my game.
__________________
"There are no superstar calls. We don't root for certain teams. We don't cheat. But sometimes we just miss calls." - Joe Crawford
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 31, 2003, 06:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally posted by DownTownTonyBrown
Mike,

I didn't quote the entire/whole rule (FED 7-3-6)

The ellipsis, "..." means that I left something out. The something in this case was something that I felt was not pertinent but given your concern about the use of the word "whole," I will explain. The first sentence of this rule (following the introduction of Rule 7 Batting, Section 3 Batting Infractions) Article 6 states: "If the bat breaks and is hit by the ball or hits a runner or a fielder, no interference will be called." It continues with the portion I quoted and felt was pertinent, "If a whole bat is thrown and interferes with a defensive player attempting a play, interference shall be called." I was focusing on the interference portion of the rule and somewhat missed the assumption of hitting the ball.

I understand that the ball has not been batted (swing and a miss). However, the infractions listed in Rule 7, Section 3 are not specific to having "hit" the ball. I also recognise that the first part of this rule concerns a broken bat (surprisingly, I have seen a metal bat break) and that generally, the only way to break a bat is to hit a ball.

So the first part of this rule involves hitting a ball, breaking a bat, and the flying portions of the bat. The second part of the rule, one would assume also involves hitting a ball, NOT breaking the bat, and the thrown bat interferes with the defense's efforts. Perhaps it is not applicable, as Cecil says, because the ball has not been batted.

ASA has definite rules addressing this very specific situation. FED is missing those rules but I must assume that the same result as ASA (interference call by the umpire) is likely desired.

In my opinion, the batter has already had her opportunity and was unsuccessful. To call her out at this point is not going to be heatedly discussed and won't be seen as a great injustice by the offensive coach. Obviously this last is my opinion and I don't have the rules to back it up - or to say that such a ruling is wrong. But perhaps I will be prepared when it happens in my game.
DTTB,

Actually, I was just kidding about this as I would think that if the batter THREW anything at the ball, including a whole or partial bat, interference would be the call.

Which will bring be to another play in another thread.

__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:44am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1