The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 13, 2011, 01:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 2,672
Quote:
Originally Posted by BretMan View Post
If you agree this is obstruction...

What about the base award? ASA has published at least one "special case" involving obstruction on a batter-runner before reaching first base (when a fly ball is caught).

If this B/R was thrown out by "4-5 feet", then it's pretty easy to judge that she likely would have been safe otherwise. But what if this runner had been bumped into by, say, the third baseman, somewhere along the third base line as she began running from the vicinity of her dugout. Then, suppose she is thrown out at first after going only a couple more steps.

Can we rule that the obstruction did not prevent the B/R from reaching first base and call her out anyway (since you obviously can't put her back at home)? Or do we have to award first base?
ASA 8-5-B1: An obstructed runner may not be called out between the two bases where obstructed.

Since we can't call her out (see above), and we can't put her back at home, we HAVE to award first base.
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 13, 2011, 01:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy View Post
ASA 8-5-B1: An obstructed runner may not be called out between the two bases where obstructed.

Since we can't call her out (see above), and we can't put her back at home, we HAVE to award first base.
I was thinking of the play ASA published on their website a few years ago.

Batter hits fly ball to the outfield. Between home and first she collides with a defensive player and umpire signals obstruction. The fly ball is then caught.

The ruling is that the batter-runner is still out. You don't award first base on that one. I could see a parallel on this play if the B/R being impeded had no bearing on her safely reaching first base.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 13, 2011, 01:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
I'm pretty sure that that case play is not meant to be expanded here. I don't think a batter called out for hitting a caught fly ball is called out between any two bases but a runner put out on a force at first was definitely called out between first and home.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 13, 2011, 02:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by BretMan View Post
I was thinking of the play ASA published on their website a few years ago.

Batter hits fly ball to the outfield. Between home and first she collides with a defensive player and umpire signals obstruction. The fly ball is then caught.

The ruling is that the batter-runner is still out. You don't award first base on that one. I could see a parallel on this play if the B/R being impeded had no bearing on her safely reaching first base.
There is a reason this one is considered a special case. It's not meant to be parallel to any play (ANY!) where BR could still conceivably be safe. The only reason THAT play is ruled differently than you might if you just went straight by the rule and nothing else is that the obstruction of the runner has NOTHING to do with whether BR was going to be out or not. It's not meant to parallel ANYTHING else or be extrapolated at all.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 13, 2011, 02:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by BretMan View Post
I was thinking of the play ASA published on their website a few years ago.

Batter hits fly ball to the outfield. Between home and first she collides with a defensive player and umpire signals obstruction. The fly ball is then caught.

The ruling is that the batter-runner is still out. You don't award first base on that one. I could see a parallel on this play if the B/R being impeded had no bearing on her safely reaching first base.
That is the ONLY exception on a batter-runner, who absolutely could never be safe since the fly ball was caught. In every other case, absent a running violation by BR that supercedes by rule, the BR must be awarded a base.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 13, 2011, 03:28pm
Tex Tex is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Texarkana, Texas
Posts: 156
I have obstruction. No such thing as "not enough for obstruction". You either have or don't have obstruction. There is no in between.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 14, 2011, 01:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy View Post
ASA 8-5-B1: An obstructed runner may not be called out between the two bases where obstructed.

Since we can't call her out (see above), and we can't put her back at home, we HAVE to award first base.
hogwash, i say make her bat again and tell her to hit the damn ball this time.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 14, 2011, 09:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by jr131981 View Post
hogwash, i say make her bat again and tell her to hit the damn ball this time.
I can't tell if you're joking...
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 14, 2011, 09:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
I can't tell if you're joking...
I've heard that somewhere before.....
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 14, 2011, 09:00am
SRW SRW is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Seattle area
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy View Post
ASA 8-5-B1: An obstructed runner may not be called out between the two bases where obstructed.

Since we can't call her out (see above), and we can't put her back at home, we HAVE to award first base.
Sure you can call her out. There's 5 ways you can call her out. Keep reading the rule you cited.
__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Feedback on Cluster Referee24.7 Basketball 7 Wed Mar 23, 2011 11:03am
Obstruction at 1B? SAump Baseball 0 Sat Sep 30, 2006 07:20pm
Fed obstruction VS ASA "new" obstruction DaveASA/FED Softball 6 Thu Apr 29, 2004 03:27pm
Obstruction sprivitor Softball 16 Mon Apr 21, 2003 11:46am
Game "ending" cluster boink BJ Moose Baseball 17 Thu Jul 25, 2002 02:59am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:12am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1