The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 18, 2003, 08:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 127
Mike provided the key sentence here: “ASA does not have PU trailing BR with any runner starting past 1B.” Using that, I went through the FED Umpire Manual this morning and found the references I wanted.

The FED Manual states that the PU trails the BR to 1B with no runners on, or a runner on 1B only. Elsewhere it states that, with runners in scoring position, the PU stays in foul territory.

So – when the ball is on the infield and you have no runner past 1B, the PU follows the BR to 1B then moves diagonally across the field to cover a play at 3B.

If you start with runners on 2B and/or on 3B, as Mike noted, the PU moves to holding position in foul territory towards 3B. If you have a play at 3B, the PU crosses the foul line to take the call in fair territory. If you do not have a play at 3B, you move back to home, in foul territory, for a call at the plate.
WMB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:36pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1