The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 07, 2003, 09:09am
Tap Tap is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 96
It appears that there are 2 correct answers, or least one correct answer and one that might be correct.

Q. With a double base in use and a play at 1B, the defensive player can:

a. Use the colored or white portion if the throw comes from foul territory.
b. Cannot use the white portion when carrying the ball from foul territory.
c. Cannot use the colored portion on a high throw from the short stop.
d. Restricted to the white portion on a throw from foul territory.

[typos/odd word structure in original]

I might be mis-reading or over-reading these, but here's what I think. Choices "b" and "d" are clearly wrong.

Choice "c" is a true statement, assuming that the "high throw" was caught and F-3 simply landed on the colored portion (it does not appear that we have an errant throw -- as ASA is defining that term -- or a play otherwise coming from foul ground).

But choice "a" also seems correct, assuming that the foul territory referenced is on the 1B side, not the 3B side (since no reference was made to the 3B side, my assumption is that it was on the 1B side).

Is it possible that both are correct? Any thoughts on this? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:02pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1