View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 07, 2003, 01:20pm
IRISHMAFIA IRISHMAFIA is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Re: Q50

Quote:
Originally posted by Tap
Sam,

I think we agree that we cannot assume an errant throw. I was assuming that it was NOT an errant throw, thus it's a true statement (fielder cannot use colored portion).

Maybe the word "cannot" in choice "c" should not be there and it should start out with "use....", which would make it an incorrect answer, thus "a" would be the only correct answer.

Steve
I was confused with this question also and I believe the can/cannot contradiction causes that problem.

My personal choice was A, but the rule book specifically state foul ground on the first base side, the question doesn't.

C would be my next option under the original wording of the rule, but does not supply enough information for us to determine if the throw meets the definition of "errant" as Henry Pollard explained to me. (Errant throw: A throw which the fielder cannot catch) Well, obviously, if the fielder came down on the orange section of the bag to put out the runner, they caught the ball.

I think this may be a question someone just didn't walk through and there is no doubt to it being poorly worded.

__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote