The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 12, 2003, 04:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Coming in late...

In the original situation, correctly handled. You can always correct not calling a dead ball when you should have, but you can never correct (completely) calling a dead ball when you shouldn't have.

Regarding the out of lane violation, there must be a play to be interfered with, and the play is on the receiving end (as has been stated several times in this thread). "Interfering" with the throw, per se, is not interference unless it was intentional.

Putting it another way, there must be a play at 1st to be interfered with.

Also, getting hit is not required to get the call. If F2 had to get clear of the runner for a throw, and the throw was late by a step or so, that can still get the running lane violation call.

So, getting plunked by a throw is not automatically interference, but the benefit of the doubt goes to the defense. Exception: if I judge an intentional throw into the runner to "get the call." The player will get the call, alright, just not the one s/he was looking for.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:43am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1