|
|||
Witnessed my first case of the base switching infraction in NFHS last nite.
ITB R1 on 2B, B2 walks. Coach calls for conference. It happened. Lazy Susan was on 2B, now on 1B, gazelle Jane now on 2B. F6 brings it to the BU's attention. Two outs, left everyone involved in the incident in the game. I was not involved in the game, just awaiting my turn. Now waiting for the CO/IF play...geeeze glen
__________________
glen _______________________________ "Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover." --Mark Twain. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
Mike,
Texas UIC Walter Sparks issued this on the TASO website in January. January 30, 2003 Memo from Walt Sparks, UIC for TASO Softball Rule Clarification Runners Switching on the Bases Rule 3-3-10 #3, 8-3-6; 8-6-4; 10-2-38 With R1 at second base, R2 at first base and a 1-1 count on B3, the offensive coach requests time to speak with the runners and batter. When the players return to their bases, R1 and R2 have switched bases. After the next pitch to B3, the defensive coach asks for time and appeals to the umpire that the runners are on the wrong bases. RULING: The umpire shall rule both R1 and R2 out for switching bases. Both are guilty of base-running infractions. If, in the umpire's judgment, the act was deliberate, both players would be ejected for unsporting behavior. Now, I know there is no Rule 3-3-10 #3 in the Case Book or the NFHS Rule book. Nor is there a 10-2-38. However, we were told to rule on the situtation as above. Since very few games have been played locally, blues decided to allow both players to continue. greymule, Mr. Sparks' Memo did not state eject coach, however, rule book would allow it under Rule 3-3-1 o. pg 36 2003 book. glen
__________________
glen _______________________________ "Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover." --Mark Twain. |
|
|||
Glenn,
That is Situation #10 from the 2003 NFHS Softball Rules Interpertations on the National web site. Two minor differences; The official ruling is that players and coach COULD (not would) be ejected for USC, and the cite is 3-3-1o #3 (which exists, not 3-3-10#3) and 10-2-3f (also in existance, not 10-2-38). Roger Greene |
|
|||
Glenn,
Did you see the one (if you went to national fed page) about the pitcher lifting the foot up of the rubber and putting it back on the plate? I'm wondering if you remember the lefthander from 18-U gold Missouri Magic who did this? That rule made me think of her. Ron |
Bookmarks |
|
|