The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Switching Bases (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/7823-switching-bases.html)

whiskers_ump Fri Mar 07, 2003 09:08pm

Witnessed my first case of the base switching infraction in NFHS last nite.

ITB R1 on 2B, B2 walks. Coach calls for conference. It happened.
Lazy Susan was on 2B, now on 1B, gazelle Jane now on 2B. F6 brings
it to the BU's attention. Two outs, left everyone involved in the
incident in the game. I was not involved in the game, just awaiting
my turn.


Now waiting for the CO/IF play...geeeze :D

glen

greymule Fri Mar 07, 2003 09:24pm

I think both runners and the coach should have been ejected, right?

IRISHMAFIA Fri Mar 07, 2003 10:12pm

Quote:

Originally posted by greymule
I think both runners and the coach should have been ejected, right?
Not in ASA. ASA has the runners out and the head coach/manager ejected. However, I wasn't aware the Fed had a similar rule.


whiskers_ump Fri Mar 07, 2003 11:38pm

Mike,

Texas UIC Walter Sparks issued this on the TASO website in
January.

January 30, 2003

<b>Memo from Walt Sparks, UIC for TASO Softball

Rule Clarification
Runners Switching on the Bases


Rule 3-3-10 #3, 8-3-6; 8-6-4; 10-2-38


With R1 at second base, R2 at first base and a 1-1 count on B3, the offensive coach requests time to speak with the runners and batter. When the players return to their bases, R1 and R2 have switched bases. After the next pitch to B3, the defensive coach asks for time and appeals to the umpire that the runners are on the wrong bases. RULING: The umpire shall rule both R1 and R2 out for switching bases. Both are guilty of base-running infractions. If, in the umpire's judgment, the act was deliberate, both players would be ejected for unsporting behavior.</b>

Now, I know there is no Rule 3-3-10 #3 in the Case Book or the NFHS
Rule book. Nor is there a 10-2-38. However, we were told to rule
on the situtation as above. Since very few games have been played
locally, blues decided to allow both players to continue.

greymule,

Mr. Sparks' Memo did not state eject coach, however, rule book would
allow it under Rule 3-3-1 o. pg 36 2003 book.

glen



Roger Greene Sat Mar 08, 2003 09:09am

Glenn,
That is Situation #10 from the 2003 NFHS Softball Rules Interpertations on the National web site.

Two minor differences; The official ruling is that players and coach COULD (not would) be ejected for USC, and the cite is 3-3-1o #3 (which exists, not 3-3-10#3) and 10-2-3f
(also in existance, not 10-2-38).

Roger Greene

ronald Sat Mar 08, 2003 10:24pm

Glenn,

Did you see the one (if you went to national fed page) about the pitcher lifting the foot up of the rubber and putting it back on the plate? I'm wondering if you remember the lefthander from 18-U gold Missouri Magic who did this? That rule made me think of her.

Ron


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:05pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1