![]() |
|
|
|||
Here is what happened:
While U1 was sweeping plate, offensive coach in dugout stepped out of the dugout and told the batter who was walking to the plate to hit the ball. U1 told the coach that that was his offensive conference for the inning. The 3rd base coach did not hear this. Later in the inning play was stopped so 3rd base coach started talking to the next batter while U1 was in the infield. When U1 turned around and saw the coach talking to the next batter he immediately told the coach that he could not talk to the batter since they had already used their offensive conference for the inning. The third base coach got mad because he did not know about the previous conference. The defensive coach ask if the batter is out since the offensive team had violated the second offensive conference rule. U1 told him no and told the girls to play ball. Defensive coach got mad and ask for the UIC to be called to the field. The UIC came to the field, but determined that U1 handle the issue correctly. Of course every play from that point on was a fuss. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
Quote:
I might nudge it along with a, "let's keep it moving, coach," but if it's just a couple of words to the next batter, I've got nothing.
__________________
Dave I haven't decided if I should call it from the dugout or the outfield. Apparently, both have really great views! Screw green, it ain't easy being blue! I won't be coming here that much anymore. I might check in now and again. |
|
|||
Quote:
I'm failing to see how either of these was a conference. |
|
|||
I agree. From the description, it sounds like it might have been OOO.
__________________
Larry |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Larry |
|
|||
Why ???
Do you agree with this call ? By the way you write this it would seem to be a power trip by the U1?
|
|
|||
Quote:
Not the first account during the weekend where this particular umpire had an issue. The other time was with another umpire. Possible case of short man's disease. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
What do you take to a National? | DaveASA/FED | Softball | 39 | Mon Aug 05, 2013 09:03am |
ASA National School | IN ASA BLUE | Softball | 12 | Thu Feb 19, 2009 01:44pm |
My First National | Chess Ref | Softball | 11 | Thu Aug 09, 2007 01:02pm |
1st National | canump | Softball | 0 | Wed Aug 02, 2006 01:13pm |
National Anthem | bluezebra | Baseball | 44 | Wed Oct 26, 2005 08:24pm |